WHO WE ARE

The Pediatric Academic Societies (PAS) connects thousands of pediatricians and other health care providers worldwide. This international gathering, delivered virtually in 2021, offers opportunities for a global audience of physician-scientists, clinicians, and educators to share research, explore new ideas, build career opportunities, and collaborate on future projects. Presentations cover issues of interest to generalists as well as topics critical to a wide array of specialty and sub-specialty areas.

We are excited to share the first-ever strategic plan for the Pediatric Academic Society (PAS)!

OUR PARTNERS

The PAS Meeting is produced through a partnership of four pediatric organizations that are leaders in the advancement of pediatric research and child advocacy. These partners, designated below, are pleased to celebrate ongoing collaborations with the Alliance and Affiliate supporters of the PAS Meeting denoted below.

  • American Pediatric Society (APS) is an organization dedicated to the advancement of child health through the promotion of pediatric research, recognition of achievement, and cultivation of excellence in pediatrics through advocacy, scholarship, education, and leadership development and to honor those who, by their contributions to pediatrics, have aided in its advancement.
  • Society for Pediatric Research (SPR) is an international society whose purpose is to create a network of multidisciplinary researchers to improve child health. SPR promotes the interchange of ideas and provides opportunities for investigators to present and be honored for their work.
  • Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is a national organization dedicated to improving the health of all children and adolescents through leadership in the education of child health professionals, research, dissemination of knowledge, patient care, and advocacy, in partnership with children, families, and communities. This is accomplished through membership activities, funded research, and teaching programs and advocacy to affect public and governmental opinion positively for children.
  • American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) is an organization of primary care pediatricians, pediatric medical subspecialists, and pediatric surgical specialists committed to the attainment of optimal physical, mental and social health for all infants, children, adolescents, and young adults.

OUR ALLIANCES

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Christine A. Gleason – President
APS
University of Washington
cgleason@u.washington.edu

David Hunstad – Secretary/Treasurer
SPR Strategic and Operations Officer
Washington University
dhunstad@wustl.edu

Michelle Gill
SPR Ambassador, North American Regionals
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
michelle.gill@utsouthwestern.edu

Bruce Gelb
APS
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
bruce.gelb@mssm.edu

Benard Dreyer
AAP
NYU School of Medicine, Bellevue Hospital
Benard.Dreyer@nyumc.org

Daniel Rauch
AAP
The Floating Hospital for Children,
Tufts University School of Medicine
drauch@tuftsmedicalcenter.org

Steve Selbst
APA Immediate Past President
Nemours/A.I. duPont Hospital for Children
sselbst@nemours.org

Judith Shaw
APA Secretary
University of Vermont
Judith.Shaw@uvm.edu

Ex officio

Patrick D. Brophy
PAS Program Committee Chair
University of Rochester Medical Center
Patrick_Brophy@URMC.Rochester.edu
 
Eileen Fenton
PAS Executive Director
eileen.fenton@central-office.info

PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Patrick D. Brophy
PAS Program Chair

Nephrology
University of Rochester Medical Center
Gosliano Children’s Hospital
Patrick_Brophy@URMC.Rochester.edu
Affiliation: APS, ASPN, SPR

Judith Shaw
PAS Program Chair-Elect
General Pediatrics, Quality Improvement
University of Vermont Larner College of Medicine
Judith.Shaw@med.uvm.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP, APS

Wendy Hobson-Rohrer
PAS Workshop Chair
General Pediatrics
University of Utah Health/School of Medicine
Wendy.Hobson@hsc.utah.edu
Affiliation: APA, SPR

Steven Abman
APS President
Pulmonology, Critical Care, Neonatology
University of Colorado School of Medicine, Children’s Hospital Colorado
steven.abman@ucdenver.edu
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Mary Leonard
APS Vice President
Pediatrics, Nephrology
Stanford University School of Medicine,
Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital
Leonard5@stanford.edu
Affiliation: APS

Clifford Bogue
APS Secretary/Treasurer
Critical Care
Yale School of Medicine, Yale-New Haven Children’s Hospital
clifford.bogue@yale.edu
Affiliation: APS, AAP, APA, SPR

Vineet Bhandari
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Cooper Medical School at Rowan University,
The Children’s Regional Hospital at Cooper
bhandari-vineet@cooperhealth.edu
Affiliation: APS, AAP, SRP

David Cornfield
Pulmonology, Critical Care
Stanford University School of Medicine, Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital dcornfield@stanford.edu
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Jennifer Read
Infectious Diseases, Epidemiology
University of Vermont, Vermont Department of Health
jennifer.read@uvm.edu
Affiliation: APS, AAP, PIDS, SPR

Michelle Gill
SPR Ambassador, North American Regionals
Infectious Diseases
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
michelle.gill@utsouthwestern.edu
Affiliation: SPR
 
Joel Hirschhorn
SPR Past President
Endocrinology, Genetics
Boston Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School
joel.hirschhorn@childrens.harvard.edu
Affiliation: SPR, APS
 
David Hunstad
SPR Strategic and Operations Officer
Infectious Diseases
Washington University
dhunstad@wustl.edu
Affiliation: SPR, APS, PIDS
 
Roberta Keller
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Univ. of Calif. San Francisco
kellerr@peds.ucsf.edu
Affiliation: SPR, APS
 
Jamie Lohr
Cardiology
University of Minnesota Medical Center
lohrx003@umn.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Nathalie Maitre
Neonatology
Ohio State University College of Medicine, Nationwide Children’s Hospital
nathalie.maitre@nationwidechildrens.org
Affiliation: SPR

Latha Chandran
APA President
Medical Education
Miller School of Medicine, University of Miami
kchandran@med.miami.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP

Teri Turner
APA President-elect
PAS CME Liaison
Professor in Pediatrics
Baylor College of Medicine
Teri.Turner@bcm.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP, APS

Judith Shaw
APA Secretary
General Pediatrics, Quality Improvement
University of Vermont
Judith.Shaw@uvm.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP, APS

Rachel Gross
Obesity, Underserved Populations
NYU School of Medicine
Rachel.Gross@nyulangone.org
Affiliation: APA, SPR

Wendy Hobson-Rohrer
PAS Workshop Chair
General Pediatrics, Health Equality
University of Utah Health/School of Medicine
Wendy.Hobson@hsc.utah.edu
Affiliation: APA, SPR

Traci Wolbrink
Critical Care, Medical Education
Harvard Medical School
Boston Children’s Hospital
traci.wolbrink@childrens.harvard.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP


Benard Dreyer
General and Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics
NYU School of Medicine, Bellevue Hospital
Benard.Dreyer@nyumc.org
Affiliation: AAP, APA, APS

Kathryn King 
Telemedicine/General Pediatrics
Medical University of South Carolina
kingkl@musc.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA

Hugo Ruben Martinez
Cardiology
The Heart Institue-Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center
hmartinez@uthsc.edu
Affiliation: AAP

Daniel Rauch
Hospital Medicine
The Floating Hospital for Children, Tufts
University School of Medicine
drauch@tuftsmedicalcenter.org
Affiliation: APA, AAP

Elizabeth (Tess) Saarel
Cardiology
Cleveland Clinic
saarele@ccf.org
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

Alan Schroeder
Critical Care, Hospital Medicine
Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital, Stanford University School of Medicine
aschroe@stanford.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA

Teri Turner
Medical Education, Academic General Pediatrics,
Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics
Baylor College of Medicine
teri.turner@bcm.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP, APS

Jochen Profit
Neonatology
Stanford University, Lucile Salter Packard Children’s Hospital
profit@stanford.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APS, SPR

Rita Ryan
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Case Western Reserve University, UH Rainbow Babies & Children’s Hospital
Rita.Ryan@UHhospitals.org
Affiliation: AAP, APS, SPR

Maury Pinsk
ASPN Program Co-Chair
Nephrology
University of Manitoba, Winnipeg Children’s Hospital
mpinsk@exchange.hsc.mb.ca
Affiliation: ASPN

David Selewski
ASPN Program Co-Chair
General Pediatric Nephrology
Medical University of South Carolina
selewski@musc.edu
Affiliation: ASPN

Katsuhiro Arai
Gastroenterology
National Center for Child Health and Development Tokyo, Japan
arai-k@ncchd.go.jp

Tetsuya Isayama
Neonatology
National Center for Child Health and Development Tokyo, Japan
isayama-t@ncchd.go.jp

Akihiko Saitoh
Infectious Diseases
Niigata University Graduate School of Medical and Dental Sciences
asaitoh@med.niigata-u.ac.jp

Kazuko Wada
Vice President JPS
Neonatology
Osaka Women’s and Children’s Hospital
kwada@ped.med.osaka-u.ac.jp

Marsha Anderson
Infectious Diseases
University of Colorado School of Medicine
marsha.anderson@childrenscolorado.org
Affiliation: AAP, PIDS, SPR

Linda Waggoner-Fountain
Infectious Diseases
University of Virginia Health System
LAW4Q@virginia.ed 
Affiliation: AAP, PIDS

Frederick Kaskel
Nephrology
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
frederick.kaskel@einstein.yu.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APS, ASPN, SPR

Taeun Chang
Fetal and Neonatal Neurology
Children’s National Medical Center
tchang@childrensnational.org
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

Zulfiqar A. Bhutta
Global Health
Hospital for Sick Children, University of Toronto
zulfiqar.bhutta@sickkids.ca
Affiliation: The Coalition

Suzinne Pak-Gorstein
General Pediatrics, Global Health
University of Washington, Harborview Medical Center, Seattle Children’s Hospital
spakgor@uw.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA


Donald L. Batisky
Nephrology
Emory University, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
dbatisk@emory.edu
Affiliation: AAP, ASPN

Daniel Feig
Nephrology
UAB, Children’s of Alabama
dfeig@peds.UAB.edu
Affiliation: AAP, ASPN, SPR

Ruth Etzel
Milken Institute School of Public Health
George Washington University
retzel@gwu.edu
Affiliation: AAP

Rahul Gupta
Chief Medical & Health Officer, SVP
Chair; Liaison for the Developmental Prize for March of Dimes Foundation
Rgupta@marchofdimes.org

Deborah Neigut
Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Nutrition
University of Colorado School of Medicine
deborah.neigut@childrenscolorado.org

Lauren G. Solan
Hospital Medicine
University of Rochester Golisano Children’s Hospital
Lauren_Solan@URMC.Rochester.edu
Affiliation:

Derek Williams
Hospital Medicine
Monroe Carrell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt
Derek.Williams@vanderbilt.edu
Affiliations: AAP, APA, SPR

Ann Chahroudi
Infectious Diseases
Emory University School of Medicine
achahro@emory.edu
Affiliation: PIDS

Kari Simonsen
Infectious Diseases
University of Nebraska Medical Center
kasimonsen@unmc.edu
Affiliation: PIDS

Richard Chung
Adolescent Medicine
Duke University
Richard.chung@duke.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Ellen Selkie
Adolescent Medicine, Health Equity
University of Michigan
eselkie@med.umich.edu
Affiliation: AAP

Susan Berger
Academic General and Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
sberger@northwestern.edu
Affiliation: APA

Alan L. Mendelsohn
General and Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics
New York University School of Medicine, Bellevue Hospital Center
alm5@nyu.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA, SPR

David S. Cooper
Critical Care
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
David.Cooper@cchmc.org
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Todd A. Florin
Emergency Medicine
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago
taflorin@luriechildrens.org
Affiliation: AAP, APA, PIDS, SPR

Kathryn Harmoney
Pediatrics
University of New Mexico Hospital
katie@harmoney.us

Linda McAllister-Lucas
Hematology/Oncology
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh
linda.mcallister@chp.edu
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Lise Nigrovic
Emergency Medicine
Boston Children’s Hospital
lise.nigrovic@childrens.harvard.edu
Affiliation:  APS, SPR

George A. Porter, Jr.
Cardiology
University of Rochester Medical Center
George_Porter@URMC.Rochester.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Michael Posencheg
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
posencheg@email.chop.edu
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

Michael A. Scharf
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
University of Rochester Medical Center
Michael_Scharf@URMC.Rochester.edu

Sarah Taylor
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Yale School of Medicine
mailto:Sarah.N.Taylor@yale.edu
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

David Weber
Endocrinology
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
weberd@email.chop.edu
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Eileen Fenton
Executive Director

Glenda Minshew
PAS Meeting Director

Belinda Thomas
Director, Scientific Program

Antonio Moreno
Director, IT

Kate Culliton
CFO – APS, SPR, PAS

Past Meetings

2020 ~ Philadelphia, PA ~ April 29 – May 6 – CANCELED

2019 ~ Baltimore, MD ~ April 24 – May 1

2018 ~ Toronto, Canada ~ May 5 – 8

2017 ~ San Francisco, CA ~ May 6 – 9

2016 ~ Baltimore, MD ~ April 30 – May 3

2015 ~ San Diego, CA ~ April 25 – 28

2014 ~ Vancouver, Canada ~ May 3 – 7

2013 ~ Washington, D.C. ~ May 4 – 7

2012 ~ Boston, MA ~ April 28 – May 1

2011 ~ Denver, CO ~ April 30 – May 3

2010 ~ Vancouver, Canada ~ May 1 – 4

Future Meetings

2021 ~ VIRTUAL ~ Phase I – April 30 – May 4 | Phase-II – May 10 – June 4

2022 ~ Denver, CO ~ April 20 – 27

2023 ~ Washington, D.C. ~ April 26 – May 3

2024 ~ Toronto, Canada ~ May 1 – 8

2025 ~ Honolulu, HI ~ April 23 – 30