WHO WE ARE

The Pediatric Academic Societies (PAS) connects thousands of pediatricians and other health care providers worldwide. This international gathering, delivered virtually in 2021, offers opportunities for a global audience of physician-scientists, clinicians, and educators to share research, explore new ideas, build career opportunities, and collaborate on future projects. Presentations cover issues of interest to generalists as well as topics critical to a wide array of specialty and sub-specialty areas.

We are excited to share the first-ever strategic plan for the Pediatric Academic Society (PAS)!

OUR PARTNERS

The PAS Meeting is produced through a partnership of four pediatric organizations that are leaders in the advancement of pediatric research and child advocacy. These partners, designated below, are pleased to celebrate ongoing collaborations with the Alliance and Affiliate supporters of the PAS Meeting denoted below.

  • American Pediatric Society (APS) is an organization dedicated to the advancement of child health through the promotion of pediatric research, recognition of achievement, and cultivation of excellence in pediatrics through advocacy, scholarship, education, and leadership development and to honor those who, by their contributions to pediatrics, have aided in its advancement.
  • Society for Pediatric Research (SPR) is an international society whose purpose is to create a network of multidisciplinary researchers to improve child health. SPR promotes the interchange of ideas and provides opportunities for investigators to present and be honored for their work.
  • Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is a national organization dedicated to improving the health of all children and adolescents through leadership in the education of child health professionals, research, dissemination of knowledge, patient care, and advocacy, in partnership with children, families, and communities. This is accomplished through membership activities, funded research, and teaching programs and advocacy to affect public and governmental opinion positively for children.
  • American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) is an organization of primary care pediatricians, pediatric medical subspecialists, and pediatric surgical specialists committed to the attainment of optimal physical, mental and social health for all infants, children, adolescents, and young adults.

OUR ALLIANCES

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Christine A. Gleason – President
University of Washington
cgleason@u.washington.edu

David Hunstad – Secretary/Treasurer
Washington University
dhunstad@wustl.edu

Vineet Bhandari, MD, DM, FAAP
Cooper Medical School of Rowan University
bhandari-vineet@cooperhealth.edu

Susan Bostwick, MD, MBA
Weill Cornell Medicine
sbbostwi@med.cornell.edu

Hannah Glass, MD
UCSF Departments of Neurology, Pediatrics and Epidemiology & Biostatistics and Weill Institute for Neurosciences
Hannah.Glass@ucsf.edu

Daniel Rauch
The Floating Hospital for Children
Tufts University School of Medicine
drauch@tuftsmedicalcenter.org

Judith Shaw
University of Vermont
Judith.Shaw@uvm.edu

Maria Trent, MD, MPH, FAAP, FSAHM
Johns Hopkins University Schools of Medicine, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Johns Hopkins Children’s Center
mtrent2@jhmi.edu

Ex officio

Patrick D. Brophy
PAS Program Committee Chair
University of Rochester Medical Center
Patrick_Brophy@URMC.Rochester.edu
 
Eileen Fenton
PAS Executive Director
eileen.fenton@central-office.info

Patrick D. Brophy
PAS Program Chair

Nephrology
University of Rochester Medical Center
Gosliano Children’s Hospital
Patrick_Brophy@URMC.Rochester.edu
Affiliation: APS, ASPN, SPR

Judith Shaw
PAS Program Chair-Elect
General Pediatrics, Quality Improvement
University of Vermont Larner College of Medicine
Judith.Shaw@med.uvm.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP, APS

Wendy Hobson-Rohrer
PAS Workshop Chair
General Pediatrics
University of Utah Health/School of Medicine
Wendy.Hobson@hsc.utah.edu
Affiliation: APA, SPR

Barrett Fromme
PAS Workshop-Chair Elect

Hospital Medicine, Medical Education
UChicago’s Pritzker School of Medicine and UChicago Medicine Comer Children’s Hospital
hfromme@bsd.uchicago.edu
Affiliation: APA

Christine A. Gleason
PAS Board of Directors President

University of Washington
cgleason@u.washington.edu

Daniel Rauch
Hospital Medicine
The Floating Hospital for Children, Tufts
University School of Medicine
drauch@tuftsmedicalcenter.org
Affiliation: APA, AAP

Mary Leonard
APS President
Pediatrics, Nephrology
Stanford University School of Medicine,
Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital
Leonard5@stanford.edu
Affiliation: APS

Clifford Bogue
APS Secretary/Treasurer
Critical Care
Yale School of Medicine, Yale-New Haven Children’s Hospital
clifford.bogue@yale.edu
Affiliation: APS, AAP, APA, SPR

David Cornfield
Pulmonology, Critical Care
Stanford University School of Medicine, Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital dcornfield@stanford.edu
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Lise Nigrovic
Emergency Medicine
Boston Children’s Hospital
lise.nigrovic@childrens.harvard.edu
Affiliation: APS, SPR, AAP

Jennifer Read
Infectious Diseases, Epidemiology
University of Vermont, Vermont Department of Health
jennifer.read@uvm.edu
Affiliation: APS, AAP, PIDS, SPR

Lisa Robinson
Nephrology
University of Toronto, The Hospital for Sick Children
lisa.robinson@utoronto.ca
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Danielle Ahn
Critical Care
Columbia University Irving Medical Center
dsa2120@columbia.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Lina Chalak
Neonatology, Developmental Neurology
UT Southwestern Medical Center
lina.chalak@utsouthwestern.edu 
Affiliation: SPR, APS

Keisha Gibson
Nephrology
UNC School of Medicine
kgibson@med.unc.edu
Affiliation: SPR ASPN

David Hunstad
SPR Strategic and Operations Officer
Infectious Disease
Washington University in St. Louis, Children’s Hospital St. Louis
dhunstad@wustl.edu
Affiliation: SPR, APS, PIDS

Nathalie Maitre
Neonatology
Ohio State University College of Medicine, Nationwide Children’s Hospital
nathalie.maitre@nationwidechildrens.org
Affiliation: SPR

Durga Singer
Endocrinology
University of Michigan School of Medicine
ksinger@umich.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Teri Turner
APA President
Medical Education, Academic General Pediatrics,
Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics
Baylor College of Medicine
Teri.Turner@bcm.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP, APS

Barry Solomon
APA President-elect
General Pediatrics & Adolescent Medicine
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
bsolomon@jhmi.edu
Affiliation: APA

Latha Chandran
APA Past-President
Medical Education
Miller School of Medicine, University of Miami
lchandran@med.miami.edu
Affiliation: APA

Michael Steiner
APS Secretary/Treasurer
General Pediatrics, Hospital Medicine, Adolescent Medicine
UNC Children’s, Gillings School of Global Public Health
msteiner@med.unc.edu
Affiliations: APA, AAP, SPR

Esther Chung
Newborn Medicine, Hospital Medicine
University of Washington School of Medicine
ekc16@uw.edu
Affiliations: APA, AAP

Traci Wolbrink
Critical Care, Medical Education
Harvard Medical School
Boston Children’s Hospital
traci.wolbrink@childrens.harvard.edu
Affiliation: APA

Teri Turner
Medical Education, Academic General Pediatrics,
Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics
Baylor College of Medicine
teri.turner@bcm.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP, APS

Kathryn King 
Telemedicine/General Pediatrics
Medical University of South Carolina
kingkl@musc.edu
Affiliation: AAP

Hugo Ruben Martinez
Cardiology
The Heart Institue-Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center
hmartinez@uthsc.edu
Affiliation: AAP

Elizabeth (Tess) Saarel
Cardiology
Cleveland Clinic
saarele@ccf.org
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

Alan Schroeder
Critical Care, Hospital Medicine
Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital, Stanford University School of Medicine
aschroe@stanford.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA

Jochen Profit
Neonatology
Stanford University, Lucile Salter Packard Children’s Hospital
profit@stanford.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APS, SPR

Rita Ryan
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Case Western Reserve University, UH Rainbow Babies & Children’s Hospital
Rita.Ryan@UHhospitals.org
Affiliation: AAP, APS, SPR

David Selewski
ASPN Program Co-Chair
General Pediatric Nephrology
Medical University of South Carolina
selewski@musc.edu
Affiliation: ASPN, SPR

Kim Reidy
ASPN Program Co-Chair
General Pediatric Nephrology
Children’s Hospital at Montefiore, Albert Einstein College of Medicine
KREIDY@montefiore.org
Affiliations: ASPN, SPR

Tetsuya Isayama
Neonatology
National Center for Child Health and Development Tokyo, Japan
isayama-t@ncchd.go.jp

Akihiko Saitoh
Infectious Diseases
Niigata University Graduate School of Medical and Dental Sciences
asaitoh@med.niigata-u.ac.jp

Kazuko Wada
Vice President JPS
Neonatology
Osaka Women’s and Children’s Hospital
kwada@wch.opho.jp

Marsha Anderson
Infectious Diseases
University of Colorado School of Medicine
marsha.anderson@childrenscolorado.org
Affiliation: AAP, PIDS, SPR

Linda Waggoner-Fountain
Infectious Diseases
University of Virginia Health System
LAW4Q@virginia.ed 
Affiliation: AAP, PIDS

Frederick Kaskel
Nephrology
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
frederick.kaskel@einstein.yu.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APS, ASPN, SPR

Taeun Chang
Fetal and Neonatal Neurology
Children’s National Medical Center
tchang@childrensnational.org
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

Emily Tam
Neonatal Neurology
Hospital for Sick Children
emily.tam@sickkids.ca
Affiliation: SPR

Gary Darmstadt
Pediatrics Neonatal & Developmental Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine
gdarmsta@stanford.edu
Affiliation: AAP, PIDS, SPR

Suzinne Pak-Gorstein
General Pediatrics, Global Health
University of Washington, Harborview Medical Center, Seattle Children’s Hospital
spakgor@uw.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA

Donald Batisky
Nephrology
Emory University, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
dbatisk@emory.edu
Affiliation: AAP, ASPN

Daniel Feig
Nephrology
UAB, Children’s of Alabama
dfeig@peds.UAB.edu
Affiliation: ASPN

Ruth Etzel
Milken Institute School of Public Health
George Washington University
retzel@gwu.edu
Affiliation: AAP

Rahul Gupta
Chief Medical & Health Officer, SVP
Chair; Liaison for the Developmental Prize for March of Dimes Foundation
Rgupta@marchofdimes.org

Sandra E. Juul
Neonatology
Seattle Children’s Hospital
sjuul@uw.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APS, SPR

Christopher Smyser
Neonatal Neurology
St. Louis Children’s Hospital
smyserc@wustl.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Deborah Neigut
Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Nutrition
University of Colorado School of Medicine
deborah.neigut@childrenscolorado.org

Lauren Solan
Hospital Medicine
University of Rochester Golisano Children’s Hospital
Lauren_Solan@URMC.Rochester.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA, SPR

Derek Williams
Hospital Medicine
Monroe Carrell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt
Derek.Williams@vanderbilt.edu
Affiliation: APA, SPR

Ann Chahroudi
Infectious Diseases
Emory University School of Medicine
achahro@emory.edu
Affiliation: PIDS, SPR

Kari Simonsen
Infectious Diseases
University of Nebraska Medical Center
kasimonsen@unmc.edu
Affiliation: PIDS, SPR, AAP

Richard Chung
Adolescent Medicine
Duke University
Richard.chung@duke.edu
Affiliation: SPR, AAP

Oriaku Kas-Osoka
Adolescent Medicine
Kirk Kerkorian School of Medicine Univ. of Nevada, Las Vegas
oriaku.kas-osoka@unlv.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA

Susan Berger
Academic General and Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
sberger@northwestern.edu
Affiliation: APA

Deborah Winders Davis
Child & Adolescent Health Research Design and Support (CAHRDS) Unit
Norton Children’s Research Institute
Affiliated with University of Louisville School of Medicine
deborah.davis@louisville.edu
Affiliation: APA

Alan L. Mendelsohn
General and Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics
New York University School of Medicine, Bellevue Hospital Center
alan.mendelsohn@nyulangone.org
Affiliation: AAP, APA, SPR

Douglas Vanderbilt
Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics
Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California, Children’s Hospital Los Angeles
dvanderbilt@chla.usc.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APS, SPR

Corrie Chumpitazi
Emergency Center, Pediatric Sedation and Analgesia
Texas Children’s Hospital
cechumpi@texaschildrens.org
Affiliation: SPS, AAP

Mary Landrigan
Anesthesiology, Critical Care & Pain Medicine
Boston Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Mary.Landrigan-Ossar@childrens.harvard.edu
Affiliation: SPS

David S. Cooper
Critical Care
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
David.Cooper@cchmc.org
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Todd A. Florin
Emergency Medicine
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago
taflorin@luriechildrens.org
Affiliation: AAP, APA, PIDS, SPR

Michelle Gill
Infectious Diseases
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
michelle.gill@utsouthwestern.edu
Affiliation: SPR, PIDS

Kathryn Harmoney
Pediatrics
University of New Mexico Hospital
katie@harmoney.us

Suhas G. Kallapur
Neonatology
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
UCLA Mattel Children’s Hospital
SKallapur@mednet.ucla.edu
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Linda McAllister-Lucas
Hematology/Oncology
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh
linda.mcallister@chp.edu
Affiliation: APS, SPR

George A. Porter, Jr.
Cardiology
University of Rochester Medical Center
George_Porter@URMC.Rochester.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Michael Posencheg
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Penn Presbyterian Medical Center, Perelman School of Medicine-University of Pennsylvania
Michael.Posencheg@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

Michael A. Scharf
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
University of Rochester Medical Center
Michael_Scharf@URMC.Rochester.edu

Sarah Taylor
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Yale School of Medicine
mailto:Sarah.N.Taylor@yale.edu
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

David Weber
Endocrinology
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
weberd@email.chop.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Eileen Fenton
Executive Director

Glenda Minshew
PAS Meeting Director

Antonio Moreno
Director, IT

Kate Culliton
CFO – APS, SPR, PAS

Jaclyn Huff
Director, Content & Conference Planning

Carmen Beck
Director, Marketing, Communications & Development

Michelle Kravanek
Customer Care Specialist

Past Meetings

2021 ~ VIRTUAL ~ Phase I – April 30 – May 4 | Phase-II – May 10 – June 4

2020 ~ Philadelphia, PA ~ April 29 – May 6 – CANCELED

2019 ~ Baltimore, MD ~ April 24 – May 1

2018 ~ Toronto, Canada ~ May 5 – 8

2017 ~ San Francisco, CA ~ May 6 – 9

2016 ~ Baltimore, MD ~ April 30 – May 3

2015 ~ San Diego, CA ~ April 25 – 28

2014 ~ Vancouver, Canada ~ May 3 – 7

2013 ~ Washington, D.C. ~ May 4 – 7

2012 ~ Boston, MA ~ April 28 – May 1

2011 ~ Denver, CO ~ April 30 – May 3

2010 ~ Vancouver, Canada ~ May 1 – 4

Future Meetings

2022 ~ Denver, CO ~ April 21 – 25

2023 ~ Washington, D.C. ~ April 26 – May 3

2024 ~ Toronto, Canada ~ May 1 – 8

2025 ~ Honolulu, HI ~ April 23 – 30

2026 ~ Boston, MA ~ April 22 – 29

2027 ~ Minneapolis, MN ~ April 28 – May 5

2028 ~ Salt Lake City, UT ~ May 2 – May 10